Bengt Robert Holmström is the Paul A. Samuelson Professor of Economics at Massachusetts Institute of Technology, where he was head of the Economics Department from 2003-2006. He holds a joint appointment with MIT’s Sloan School of Management.

Holmström received his doctoral degree from Stanford University in 1978. Before joining MIT in 1994, he was the Edwin J. Beinecke Professor of Management at Yale University’s School of Management (1983-94) and associate professor at the Kellogg Graduate School of Management at Northwestern University (1979-82).

Holmström is a microeconomic theorist, best known for his research on the theory of contracting and incentives especially as applied to the theory of the firm, to corporate governance and to liquidity problems in financial crises.

He was awarded the 2016 Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel.

He is a member of the board of Aalto University (Finland) and the Finnish Business and Policy Forum (EVA). He was a board member of the Nokia Corporation 1999-2012.

Dr. Lynn Pasquerella, President of the Association of American Colleges and Universities.



Agustín Rayo

Agustín RayoAssociate Dean, MIT School of Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences and
Professor of Philosophy.

Lillian Chin

Lillian Chin, Jeopardy College Champion, MIT '17.

Edward Schiappa conducts research in argumentation, classical rhetoric, media influence, and contemporary rhetorical theory. His current research explores the scope and function of rhetorical studies, including the relationship between rhetorical theory and critical media studies.

He has published ten books and his research has appeared in such journals as Philosophy & Rhetoric, Quarterly Journal of Speech, Rhetoric Review, Argumentation, Communication Monographs, and Communication Theory.

He has served as editor of Argumentation and Advocacy and received NCA's Douglas W. Ehninger Distinguished Rhetorical Scholar Award in 2000 and the Rhetorical and Communication Theory Distinguished Scholar Award in 2006. He was named a National Communication Association Distinguished Scholar in 2009.

Schiappa is Head of CMS/W and John E. Burchard Professor of the Humanities.

Chris Bourg is the Director of Libraries at Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), where she also has oversight of the MIT Press. Prior to assuming her role at MIT, Chris worked for 12 years in the Stanford University Libraries, most recently as the Associate University Librarian for Public Services.

She is currently serving as Chair of the Committee on Diversity and Inclusion of the Association of Research Libraries, is a member of the Harvard Board of Overseers Committee to Visit the University Library, and is on the Steering Committee of SocArXiv, a new open access platform for social science research. Chris recently co-chaired an MIT Ad Hoc Task Force on the Future of Libraries that has produced an ambitious vision and set of recommendations for MIT and for the research library community.

Chris has written and spoken extensively on the future of research libraries, diversity and inclusion in higher education, and the role libraries play in advancing social justice and democracy. Chris has a PhD in Sociology from Stanford University, and spent 10 years as an active duty U.S. Army officer, including three years on the faculty at the United States Military Academy at West Point.

Keith Murphy co-founded Organovo in 2007 and has led all company operations since that time.   He co-invented the company’s NovoGen MMX bioprinter platform and grew the company through early investments and corporate partnerships.  Since going public in 2012, the company has focused on the development of three-dimensional liver, kidney, and cancer tissues.  The most advanced program, liver tissue, has grown to encompass a range of applications from commercial use for pharmaceutical toxicology prediction to the preclinical development of human 3D liver patches for transplant patients.  Prior to co-founding Organovo, Mr. Murphy spent ten years at Amgen in roles of increasing responsibility, including four years as the Global Operations Leader of denosumab, now marketed as Prolia & Xgeva ($3B+ annual sales).  He holds a B.S. in chemical engineering from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and is an alumnus of the UCLA Anderson School of Management.  He currently serves on the Board of the California Life Sciences Association.
Dr. Charles Theuer has been CEO and President of TRACO, and a Director of TRACON Pharmaceuticals (NASDAQ: TCON) since 2006. Prior thereto, from October 2004 to July 2006, Dr. Theuer was Chief Medical Officer at TargeGen Inc., where he led the development of small molecule kinase inhibitors in oncology (including fedratinib, a jak2 inhibitor), ophthalmology and cardiovascular disease.  From October 2003 to October 2004, Dr. Theuer was the Director, Clinical Oncology at Pfizer, where he led the clinical development of Sutent® (sunitinib maleate) in kidney cancer; Sutent® was approved by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration in January 2006 for treating advanced kidney cancer.  Prior thereto, Dr. Theuer held senior positions at IDEC Pharmaceuticals, from June 2002 to October 2003, and the National Cancer Institute developing other agents, including small molecules and monoclonal antibody therapies.  Dr. Theuer holds a B.S. degree from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, an M.D. degree from the University of California, San Francisco and a Ph.D. degree from the University of California, Irvine.  He completed a residency in general surgery at Harbor-UCLA Medical Center and was Board Certified in general surgery in 1997.  Dr. Theuer held academic positions at the National Cancer Institute (NCI) and at the University of California, Irvine, where he was a member of the Division of Surgical Oncology.  His previous research involved immunotoxin and cancer vaccine development, translational work in cancer patients, as well as gastro-intestinal cancer epidemiology.